Mondrian Windows

IMG_3351.JPG

I have large windows in my classroom. They let in a lot of light and go from my waist to the ceiling. So lucky! One thing I don’t have is a lot of space to hang work or decorate (I don’t know what to do with myself!). I decided to take on a little window decoration before school started this year and combined Frank Lloyd Wright’s border windows with Piet Mondrian’s primary, geometric paintings. The result is a fun, eye-catching window that can be seen from the door of my classroom. We like to stand out as art teachers! No word yet if this is considered a window covering by the fire inspector. I will be so sad if it has to come down so soon!

I used electrical tape and tissue paper but would have used cellophane if I had it, but didn’t.

4 responses

  1. The fire inspectors are going to ruin art education. I feel like every year we are getting closer to the complete sterilization of learning….learning is messy, creativity is necessary, and our hands are tied trying to display and honour the children’s work!

  2. Hi – I’ve found your picture on pinterest and love it. I am a teacher and artclasswriter from Denmark. I would love to use your picture in the onlinebook Im writing for the artteachers in Denmark. Is it ok with you? Can you give me permission to use it?
    Please contact me with your answer.

    Best regards Anne Dorthe Veise

  3. Hi – I’ve found your picture on pinterest and love it. I am a teacher and artclasswriter from Denmark. I would love to use your picture in the onlinebook Im writing for the artteachers in Denmark. Is it ok with you? Can you give me permission to use it?

    Please contact me with your answer. adveise@gmail.com. Thank you!
    Best regards Anne Dorthe Veise

Leave a Reply

